Prof. Yakov Krasik


Phone: +972-4-8293559
Send an email
Visit personal web page

Prof. Yakov Krasik



Main energy field:

Plasma related energy sources

Current carrying pulse plasma, electron and ion high current beams, shock waves and high power microwaves


PhD – 1980 – Joint Institute of Nuclear Research, Dubna, Russia

Ion beam generation in reflex triode

MSc – 1976 – Physics Department, Tomsk Polytechnic University, Tomsk, Russia

High current electron beam propagation in transverse magnetic field


Fellow of the American Physical Society

Fellow of the IEEE

1988 Best scientific research among young scientists, Academy of Sciences, USSR.

1986 Best scientific research, Ministry of Highest Education and Sciences, USSR.

1980, 1982, 1985, 1988 – Best scientific research, Institute of Nuclear Physics, Tomsk, USSR.

2003 Technion team award for development of technologies for defense against terror.

2006 The Henri Gutwirth award.

2019 The Max Knoll Chair in Electronics and Opto-Electronics.

2020 NPSS Magne “Kris” Kristiansen Award

2023 IEEE NPSS PSAC award

Selected Publications:

E. Krasik, S. Efimov, D. Sheftman, A. Fedotov-Gefen, O. Antonov, D. Shafer, D. Yanuka, M. Nitishinskiy, M. Kozlov, L. Gilburd, G. Toker, S. Gleizer, E. Zvulun, V. Tz. Gurovich, D Varentsov, and M. Rodionova, “Underwater Electrical Explosion of Wires and Wire Arrays and Generation of Converging Shock Waves,” IEEE Trans. Plasma Scie. 44, 412 (2016).

Yatom, A. Shlapakovski, L. Beilin, E. Stambulchik, S. Tskhai, and Ya. E. Krasik, “Recent studies on nanosecond-timescale pressurized gas discharges”, Plasma Sources Sci. Technol. 25 064001 (2016).

Queller, J. Z. Gleizer, Ya. E. Krasik, V. A. Bernshtam, and U. Dai, “High-Current Carbon-Epoxy Capillary Cathode”, IEEE Trans. Plasma Scie. 42, 1224 (2014.)

Levko, Ya. E. Krasik and V. Tarasenko, “Present Status of Runaway Electron Generation in Pressurized Gases During Nanosecond Discharges”, Intern. Rev. Phys. 6, 165 (2012).

E Krasik, A. Fedotov, D. Sheftman, S. Efimov, A. Sayapin, V. Tz. Gurovich, D. Veksler, G. Bazalitski, S. Gleizer, A. Grinenko and V. I. Oreshkin “Underwater electrical wire explosion’, Plasma Sources Sci. Techn. 19, 034020 (2010).

Ya. E. Krasik, A. Grinenko, A. Sayapin, S. Efimov, A. Fedotov, V. Tz. Gurovich, and V. I. Oreshkin, “Underwater Electrical Wire Explosion and its Applications”, IEEE Trans. Plasma Scie. 36, 423 (2008).

E. Krasik, J. Z. Gleizer, D. Yarmolich, V. Vekselman, Y. Hadas, and J. Felsteiner, “Plasma Emission Sources For High-Current Electron Beam Generation”, IEEE Trans. Plasma Scie. 36, 768 (2008).

Ya. E. Krasik, K. Chirko, A. Dunaevsky, J. Felsteiner, A. Krokhmal, J. Gleizer, A. Sayapin, and J. Felsteiner, Ferroelectric plasma sources and their application, Special issue IEEE Trans. Plasma Sci. 31, 49 (2003).

G. Rosenman, D. Shur, Ya. E. Krasik, and A. Dunaevsky, Review – Ferroelectric cathodes, J. Appl. Phys. 88, 6109 (2000).

V. M. Bystritskii, A. A. Kim, Ya. E. Krasik, B. M. Koval’chuk, and G. A. Mesyats, Microsecond plasma opening switches, Physics of Elementary Particles and Atomic Nuclei, 23, 19 (1992).

M. Bystritskii, Ya. E. Krasik, and G. A. Mesyats, High Power Ion Sources, Physics of Elementary Particles and Atomic Nuclei 22, 1171 (1991).